Today I went with Mary Emmens (and our little helpers) to visit Proper Job recycling centre near Chagford in the depths of Devon. (We knew it was the depths of Devon after about 20 minutes lost in the lanes!) it’s a fab place.

I found the things in the picture above in the bric-a-brac room – an Aladdin’s cave of crockery, kitchen and glassware, (I loved it in there!) and an armful of paperbacks from the book room. Mary and I were both impressed with the range and quality of books on offer. Tons of great kids books too.

Mary got a couple of vintage sheets and I got some fabric scraps from the textile room. Lastly I was very pleased to find a jacket to wear to a wedding this weekend, plus a couple of other nice tops in the ladieswear room.

Actually typing this now, I’m already looking forward to going back, perhaps without a child who needs a wee and without getting lost!

