Home and sewing

This little blog of mine has been rather neglected. We’ve been off seeing the world and I’ve been 11,000 miles away from my sewing machine. I really enjoyed keeping our travel blog updated while we visited New Zealand and was surprised and touched to find out how many people were reading it.

So, since we got back I’ve been reacquainting myself with my sewing projects. I’ve been continuing sewing the blocks together for my seaside quilt.

20130508-125356.jpg
I’m nearly finished and soon will be onto the really nice bit, which is arranging them all into a quilt top.

I hope to have a more finished photo soon. I’ve got a bit distracted and made this in the meantime….

20130508-125203.jpg

It’s a baby quilt for a gift.
I chose some fabric for it before we left and had a rough idea what I wanted to do. I’m really pleased with it, especially as I haven’t followed a pattern or tutorial for it. I found a few pictures on Pinterest, then just worked out what to do. As the rectangles are quite small I’ve mostly used fabric from what I already had.

Next i need to make the binding and order the batting/wadding for the middle.

One of my post holiday resolutions was to try to make more time for sewing and i did for the first week, then life has slowly caught up!

Please say hello - you'll make my day!

