Dressmaking School

Tonight was the first night of my Introduction to Dressmaking course.

So many of the sewing blogs I read are filled with beautiful handmade clothes. It’s hard resist the urge to join in.
I have resisted for a while, using various excuses as to why it wasn’t for me. I can’t remember what the tipping point was into ‘I have to know how to do this now!’ but it happened.

After a bit of searching around I found a few local courses and settled on a 5 week course at Arrietty, a fabulous vintagey, treasure trove who also offer sewing courses and workshops. In fact my very lovely friend Mary teaches a frame purse worksop there.

I digress!

So tonight’s session was all about preparing our patterns. We’d sent in our measurements in a few weeks ago, so we arrived to find our pattern pieces all ready for us.

20131111-215915.jpg
Lots of notes we’re taken

20131111-220136.jpg
We pinned, measured and snipped. This is me cutting out the facing piece.

20131111-220321.jpg
Then Lesley (our teacher) talked to us about what kind of fabric to buy for next week and broke the news that we’ll be cutting our shift dress pieces ourselves before next weeks class. Collective sharp intake of breath from the group!

Thankfully Lesley also showed us how to lay out our fabric and pattern pieces. Having used patterns for bags I had a rough idea of all this but there is so much I don’t know about dressmaking!

20131111-220910.jpg
I can’t wait to go fabric shopping tomorrow.

Next week we need our machines and I’ll try and get some photos of the rest of the group rather than sneaking my phone out and trying not too look like a weirdo.

Please say hello - you'll make my day!

