Hoo hoo!

Some good friends of ours recently had their second baby and of course I jumped at the chance to sew them something. After a bit of head scratching I decided on something decorative. I’d seen some lovely ideas for embroidery hoops in this months Love Patchwork & Quilting Magazine.
With my new found skill of paper piecing I opted to make this cute little owl which I found the pattern for on craftsy.

20140117-175443.jpg
He was a little fiddly in places (especially those feet!) and certainly stretched my skills! Getting the back tidy involved lots of double sided tape, not really my cup of tea but I persisted! I re-sized the pattern a bit smaller but needn’t have as he fitted fine. Leaving it bigger would have made it easier!
I was totally thrilled with him and really wanted to keep him. I’d love to make more. I think they’d make great Christmas gifts.

Please say hello - you'll make my day!

