#destash and a Fabric Fast

So last night was the very crazy Instagram UK fabric de-stash party.

For those who don’t know this where lots of sewing enthusiasts and fabric hoarders have a clear out and sell what they don’t want via Instagram.

There were some fabulous things up for grabs and the excitement was immense.

20140120-105648.jpg

Yes, I went a little crazy and today feels a bit like ‘the morning after the night before’;  As the paypal invoices roll into my in-box I’m struggling to remember what I bought…and no, I didn’t even sell anything to fund this shopping spree!

So lying in bed last night feeling a tad guilty, I decided that I really do have enough fabric to last me the rest of the year, or at least the next 6 months, so I’m going to sign myself up to Fabriholics Anonymous, a group of self confessed fabric buyers and hoarders.  I’m committing to 6 months from today, so here are my goals and my commitment.

GOALS:

– To use the fabric I already have.
– Finish projects I’ve started without distraction by shifting to other new beautiful fabric.
– Stop buying fabric.
– Save the money I would have spent
FABRIC FAST RULES:
1) No fabric purchases for 6 months beginning January 1, 2014.   (20th January for me!)
2) At 6 months re-evaluate status and decide whether to keep going for full year.  Evaluation July 1, 2014.
3) Create a UFO list and complete them!
4) Exceptions
  • Backing: purchasing a backing to finish a quilt top is permissible.  However, attempting to use fabric in your possession for a backing is preferable.
  • Books and Magazine purchases are allowed as they are not fabric.  Notions acceptable too.
  • Swap Mama Fabric: if hosting a swap you are permitted to by fabric to execute swap duties, but you may not join a swap simply for the sake of being able to buy fabric!
  • Quilts for Publication: if you are making a quilt for a publication and need certain fabric to execute it correctly then that is a major exception – who can blame you?There you go, I think it will be great. I have tons of lovely fabric and I’m really excited about using it!
2 thoughts on “#destash and a Fabric Fast

  1. Hello Jo! I am doing the same…I did go one day this month, but only to get some fabric for what I was finishing, and to finish a WIP I am working on now! But I am de stashing too…and I will be posting about it in my blog this week. Mind if I mention you in my blog? I think it is something we hoarders all need to do…hard as it will be..but I look at it as…get rid of this stuff so I can buy more!! I follow you via email so it will be fun to see how we do! I have the same limitations but with one exception….
    Cheri, the Quilting Nanny
    http://www.fabricandmemories.blogspot.com

Please say hello - you'll make my day!

