Beautiful Blocks

A few weeks back I saw on Instgram that Kerry was having a bit of a clear out and selling some fabric and past sewing projects. Amoungst this were 40 of the blocks she made for the ‘500 quilt blocks’ book. I jumped at the chance at buying them and instantly thought they would make a beautiful quilt.

When I started to arrange them I have to say I felt slightly daunted at the thought of making something with someone else’s (amazing) sewing and hoped I could do them justice. It was a bit of a jigsaw puzzle to get all the blocks to fit. I managed to use all but two. 

There is a big mix of colours and at first I felt it was all a bit busy putting together lots of blocks that were designed to have such individual style. A quickly finished quilt was my goal so I tried to ignore the purist in me.

Now that it’s all finished I love the mix of different blocks, it’s one of those quilts with so much to look at.

I used Lynne’s (who happens to be co-author of afore mentioned book) fast machine binding tutorial, it’s totally brilliant and works way better than anything i’ve tried in the past.

I made and had my binding sewn on front and back in 2 hours (that may not be fast for you but it was for me!)

So this quit is being donated to the fantastic siblings together charity, which you’ve probably heard about by now. There’s are photos here of some of the quilts that have been made and donated so far. It’s lovely to think about this quilt going to such a special owner, I’m sure it will be much loved. I’m struggling to think about parting with it now!

20140508-164203.jpg

20140508-164236.jpg

20140508-164354.jpg

9 thoughts on “Beautiful Blocks

Please say hello - you'll make my day!

